Title: Little Threats
Author: Emily Schultz
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Publisher: GP Putnam’s Sons
Source: ARC via NetGalley
Length: 384 p.
Publishing Date: 10 November 2020

In the spring of 1993, Kennedy wakes up with no recollection of what happened the night before. She remembers dropping acid, sure, but everything after that is a blank. It’s why, when she’s charged with the murder of her best friend, Haley, she takes a plea deal: she doesn’t actually know if she’s innocent or guilty. When she’s released from a jail in 2008, Kennedy still feels stuck in 1993, even though it’s very clear everything and everyone else has moved on without her. Like her identical twin sister, Carter, who hadn’t come to visit at all in the last month before Kennedy’s release — a drastic change from the way their relationship had always been up until now.

I thought about the boy. Berk–there is always a living boy to go with a dead girl.

Emily Shultz, Little Threats

Kennedy’s release catches the attention of a well-known true crime TV show. This brings the spotlight not just to Kennedy and her family, but the other major players in the case. The world may have moved on, but this small Virginia town is thrown back to that spring morning as more questions are asked and more truths are uncovered. And more motives for why Haley was murdered. Kennedy might have gone to jail for Haley’s murder, but she hadn’t been the only suspect back then. Many think she was just the suspect that didn’t have enough money, since the other person arrested — Berk, the son of wealthy grocery store owners — only ended up being convicted of a drug charge. Today, he’s free, working, moved so beyond what happened and will do anything to keep it that way (unless someone’s willing to pay a good price).

But a knife was missing, and they both knew what damage a blade could do.

Emily Shultz, Little Threats

In this dark, fast-paced psychological thriller, Emily Schultz has crafted the perfect spooky season read that explores how far a traumatic event can ripple through time. With strong southern gothic elements, combined with personal essays Kennedy wrote in prison, Little Threats is absolutely for fans of Tana French’s In the Woods and Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects.

Feature Image from Unsplash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s