Uncategorized

ARC Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

image

Author: Kara Thomas
Source: eARC via NetGalley
Publisher: Delacorte
Publication Date: 19 April 2016
Rating: 4/5 Stars

Summary:

 

For fans of Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places and Sara Shephard’s Pretty Little Liars. The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths that lies become.

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons–and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette–to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to the killer–and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.

Review:

In the wake of the frenzy over Making a Murderer, and my love of Gillian Flynn, I felt instantly drawn to the premise of this novel. Slow moving, mature, and methodical, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller that makes you forget you’re reading YA. The layers of mysteries are deep here and unravel until the very end.

Tessa must return to Fayette, Pennsylvania to say goodbye to her dying father — a father that has been dead to her since the day he was taken to prison. But the idea of never being able to return home is explored, if not exploited, when Tessa begins to ask more questions than she may ever find the answers to. Questions like why her sister, who she hasn’t seen in years, had come to visit their father and what kind of new evidence lawyers might have found to overturn the death sentence of a man Tessa helped put in jail.

As each new layer of mystery is unveiled, Thomas does this in such a way that does not come on too strong or too fast. When I say the book moves slow, I mean that it reads like summer day that has the hint of a thunderstorm. You can the storm coming, but you just don’t know when it’s going to strike.

The Darkest Corners is one of my favorite YA psychological thrillers to date. Thomas is the Gillian Flynn for the YA crowd and I hope to read more of her work in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s