book review

ARC Review: The Girls by Emma Cline

Author: Emma Cline Source: eARC via NetGalley Publisher: Random House Publication Date: 14 June 2016 Rating: 5/5 Stars Summary: Girls—their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong—are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides' The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad.   Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s.… Continue reading ARC Review: The Girls by Emma Cline

Uncategorized

ARC Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Author: Kara Thomas Source: eARC via NetGalley Publisher: Delacorte Publication Date: 19 April 2016 Rating: 4/5 Stars Summary:   For fans of Gillian Flynn's Dark Places and Sara Shephard's Pretty Little Liars. The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths that lies become. There are ghosts… Continue reading ARC Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Uncategorized

Lake Effect is back up for grabs

How's that for a click-bait title? But in all seriousness, I terminated my publishing contract. I'm re-querying Lake Effect. (Right off the bat, I want to say that this was all me. This has nothing to do with REUTS, or the amazing people who work there. I love REUTS. It's my forever home.) I've been… Continue reading Lake Effect is back up for grabs

Uncategorized

Returning to my roots

I've been thinking  a lot about who I used to be. From a personal perspective, I've felt a lot of anger and frustration about not being able to be the girl to do it all. I feel bad when I have to say no to people, to potential clients. I feel bad when I can't… Continue reading Returning to my roots

Uncategorized

#AWP16 and the writer hustle

Hustling isn't something I really equated with my writing life. With my editing life, yes, sure -- how else am I going to get clients? I put tweets out, I connect with writers, I give advice and answer questions. If I didn't hustle, I'd get no clients. I'd get nowhere. But when it comes to… Continue reading #AWP16 and the writer hustle